< Back

Shergar: aka "Shergar: The Hunted"

After Ireland's greatest racehorse is kidnapped by by Irish separatists, a teenage runaway finds him, disguises him and tries to keep him away from those who mean to kill him.

Genre - Family

Director(s) - Dennis C. Lewiston

Writer(s) - Dennis C. Lewiston

Cast - Ian Holm, Mickey Rourke, Tom Walsh and David Warner

Blue Rider's Role - Producers

Release Date - 1999

Synopsis - Kevin Doherty (Tom Walsh), the orphaned son of a jockey who dreams of emulating his father, finds himself in the middle of a political plot to kidnap and kill Ireland's greatest racehorse, which is worth $18 million. Driven terrorist Gavin O'Rourke (Mickey Rourke) and his second-in-command Dermot Concannon (Andrew Connolly) steal Shergar away to a remote farm owned by Eammon Garritty (David Warner), where teenage runaway Kevin is hiding. Though initially elated at being charged with the horse's keep, Kevin is horrified when he hears of Shergar's impending execution, and he races the horse to freedom. Only one step ahead of the unrelenting kidnappers and the authorities, Kevin alters Shergar's appearance.

While on the run, Kevin meets traveling poet and horseman Joe Maguire (Ian Holm) and his beautiful, free-spirited granddaughter, Kate (Laura Murphy). The kindness they show Kevin allows him to experience love and family for the first time.

The chase gains momentum when Shergar's disguise washes away, forcing Kevin to flee and leave his new friends behind. As Kevin races Shergar toward the Cliffs of Mohar, with the terrorists in hot pursuit, he faces the decision of a lifetime. Shot on location in Ireland amidst striking scenery.

At the 1999 Temecula Valley International Film Festival, Shergar and Dennis C. Lewiston won the Best Foreign Film Jury Award. (The film is British.)

Critic's Kudos:
William Gallagher: "A strong cast. The theft is a good set piece action sequence."

Major Cast and Crew Credits and Awards:
Directed by Dennis C. Lewiston (directed The Professionals and Hot Target and was cinematographer on 23 films and TV productions, including Heidi, The Two Mrs. Grevilles and The Canterville Ghost).

Also written by Dennis C. Lewiston (Hot Target).

Stars Sir Ian Holm (Alien, The Fifth Element, Garden State, Brazil, The Day After Tomorrow, From Hell, Henry V; Oscar nominated for Chariots of Fire; won 14 major awards and 12 other nominations for works including The Aviator, The Sweet Hereafter, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, Wetherby, King Lear, The Bofors Gun, The Lost Boys, Greystoke, Dreamchild, The Madness of King George and Game, Set and Match; 111 other films and TV projects); Mickey Rourke (The Pope of Greenwich Village, The Thin Red Line, Man on Fire, The Pledge, Once Upon a Time in Mexico, Buffalo '66, Body Heat; six major awards and two other nominations for Diner, Sin City, and Barfly; 48 other films and TV projects); Tom Walsh (Short) and David Warner (Planet of the Apes, Scream 2, Time Bandits, Star Treks 5 and 6, The Man With Two Brains; won an Emmy and was nominated for six other awards for works including Titanic, Time After Time, Masada, Holocaust and Morgan: A Suitable Case For Treatment; 178 other films and TV projects).

Cast includes Laura Murphy (Whatever Love Means, Plain Jane, The Big Bow Wow); Andrew Connolly (Patriot Games, Full Frontal, Mad Dogs and Englishmen, Rebel Heart) and Julian Fellowes (Tomorrow Never Dies, Goldeneye, Shadowlands, Jane Eyre, Regeneration; won an Oscar, three other awards and seven nominatons for writing Gosford Park).

Production design by Brian Ackland-Snow (Death on the Nile, Cross of Iron, Maurice, Without a Clue; won Oscar and BAFTA for Room With a View; won Emmy for Scarlett).

Special Effects by David Harris (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Bridget Jones's Diary, Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, Out of Africa, Never Say Never Again and 27 other movies).

The film features an evocative, mystical orchestral score by jazz bandleader John Scott (North Dallas Forty, Shoot To Kill, Greystoke, Inseminoid, The Shooting Party, The Whistle Blower).

Producers: Walter Josten (Memory Run, Pucker Up and Bark Like a Dog; Emmy for The Incredible Mrs. Ritchie; 30 other films and TV projects); Brian Agnew (Slow Burn) Jeff Geoffray (Silver Wolf, The Clown at Midnight, Withchboard 2: The Devil's Doorway and 24 other films and TV projects).

Cinematography by David Lewis (UHF, Night of the Demons, Leprechaun 3, Chairman of the Board, Children of the Corn V).

Costume Design by Louise Stjernsward (Sexy Beast, The Dreamers, Stealing Beauty, High Season).

Film Editing by Alan Strachan (Waking Ned, Withnail & I, FearDotCom, Saving Grace, How to Get Ahead in Advertising).

Art Direction by Roger Bowles (High Heels and Low Lifes, The Sleeper, 20,000 Leagues Beneath the Sea).

Internet Movie Database entry for Shergar

©2019 Blue Rider Entertainment, Inc. All Rights Reserved